Funny Translations

bad translation

I hadn’t been in Thailand long before I started noticing funny translations all over the place. Sometimes it is just a small mistake that makes something funny, like “rice ant pork” instead of “rice and pork.” Other times a terrible spelling can make a translation funny, such as “singarporsrink” instead of the well-known “Singapore Sling.” Then there are the translations that make absolutely no sense, like this menu I saw at a restaurant in Bangkok that said “the fish estimates the sea thicket is angry.” Yes, waiter, I’ll have the fish estimates the sea thicket is angry, please. These bad translations are found most commonly on menus at restaurants, but if you look you’ll find them all over the place. Here are a few of the “best worst” translations from Thai to English that I’ve come across in my first year here in Thailand.

Leave a comment